Thursday, 14 March 2019

Alex Egbona, APC only hope in C'River will not join others to receive INEC's Certificate of Return

As the Independent Electoral Commission announced that the stage is ready for presentation of Certificates of  return to National Assembly members who emerged victoriously at both the February 23rd polls, there are strong indications that Chief Alex Egbona, the only candidate of the APC who was declared winner of the Abi/Yakurr Federal House of Representative polls in Cross River will not join his colleagues today to receive his certificate of return, TDN can confirm.

According to the electoral umpire, only those whose names are listed on the commissions website are invited to the ceremony. 

The ceremony slated for March 14 by 10 am for Senate and 2pm for members of House of Representative will have Dr. Alex Ogbonna of Abi/Yakurr Federal Constituency in Cross River state missing in action as his closest rival at the poll, Rt. Hon. John Gaul Lebo of the PDP had appealed Egbona's winning.

With the pending Court order not to hand over the Certificate of Returns to Egbona, INEC can't do other wise, pending when a competent court will decide on the matter.

The statement from INEC reads below 

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will on Thursday 14th March 2019 present Certificates of Return to all successful candidates in the 2019 National Assembly Elections held on 23rd February 2019. The presentation will take place as follows:


1.  Venue: Main Hall (Africa Hall), International Conference Centre, Abuja

2.      Time: 10 am (Senators-elect)

 2 pm (Members of the House of Representatives-elect)


All Senators-elect, members of the House of Representatives-elect and their guests are expected to be seated by 9.30am and 1.30pm respectively. All National Assembly members-elect are required to come along with photo identification, such as Permanent Voter's Card, Nigerian Driver's License, National Identity Card or International Passport.


Each member-elect is entitled to be accompanied by a maximum of five (5) guests only. The National Chairman and National Secretary of political parties that sponsored members-elect are also invited. 


NOTE: Only members – elect as listed on the Commission's website ( are invited to the ceremony.


Journalists, Foreign and Domestic Observers accredited to the National Collation Centre are also invited but must come along with their accreditation tags.


Official video and still photographers shall be available. No personal photographers will be allowed into the hall.


Parking has been reserved for members-elect and their guests at the Peace Park beside the Abuja International Conference Centre (Zone B) and the Old Parade Ground (Zone C)



Rose Orianran-Anthony

Secretary to the Commission