Monday, 11 March 2019

List of states where governorship elections have been declared inconclusive so far

 by  Nurudeen Lawal 

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Saturday, March 9, conducted governorship elections across 29 out of 36 states across Nigeria and state House of Assembly elections across the country. The electoral commission on Sunday, March 10, commenced official collation of the governorship results. While some results in some states have been collated and winners announced, collations are still ongoing in some states. Also, INEC has declared the elections in some states inconclusive.

Four states, Bauchi, Adamawa, Plateau and Sokoto states, do not have governors elect yet following the inconclusive nature of the guber polls. In all the four affected states, the margin of win has been smaller than the number of cancelled votes. 
Below is the breakdown: 


APC: 465,456 
PDP: 469,512 
Rejected: 21,419 
Margin of lead between PDP and APC: 4059 
Cancelled Votes: 45,312 


PDP: 367, 471 
APC: 334,995
 Margin of win: 32,476 
Cancelled Votes: 40,988 

Andrew Haruna, the state returning officer, said votes were cancelled in 44 polling units across the state. He declared the poll inconclusive.


APC: 583,255 
PDP: 538,326 
Total registered voters 2,480,455 
Total accredited voters 1,157,025
 Total valid votes 1,154,678 
Rejected 15,691
 Total votes cast 1,154,678 
Margin between the two parties 44,929 Cancelled votes 49,377 


 Aminu Tambuwal PDP: 489,558 votes Ahmed Aliyu APC: 486,145 votes
Margin of Winning 3,413
Cancellation in 136 polling units with 75,403 registered voters