Wednesday, 27 November 2019

Ayade set to constitute cabinet as C'River Assembly begins confirmation of commissioners

By Itam Offor

The Cross River State House of Assembly has confirmed three nominees for appointment into the State Executive Council as Commissioners.

Those confirmed are; Mr. Asuquo Ekpeyong Jnr, immediate past Commissioner for Finance, Mr Peter Akam  Egba, former Commissioner for Commerce and Industries and Barrister Tanko Ashang.

The Confirmation is sequel to a correspondence from the Governor asking for the House confirmation in line with section 192(2) of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended. 

The House which dissolved into the Committee of a Whole subjected the nominees to rigorous screening, asking questions bothering on how they intend to assist the State Government deliver the gains of democracy to the Citizenry.

The motion for confirmation was subsequently moved by the Leader, Rt. Hon. Peter Odey and seconded by the Deputy Leader, Rt. Hon. Fred Osim. 

The Speaker, Rt Hon. Eteng Jonah Williams stated that Members unanimously agreed that all the nominees be confirmed. He advised the nominees to collaborate with the House to facilitate the upliftment of the State. 

Williams who expressed the Assembly's commitment to Zero tolerance for cultism stated that Members have unanimously agreed that all political appointees henceforth must denounce cultism openly before their appointment into public service.

He also urged the new commissioners to work closely with their House of Assembly members to help move the state forward.