Wednesday, 6 May 2020

C'River Lawmakers Pass Assembly Commission Bill 2020

By Itam Offor | 6th May, 2020

In its efforts to ensure efficiency in service delivery in the legislature, the State Lawmakers  have passed a  Bill for a law to make provision for the establishment of the Cross River State House of Assembly Service Commission. 

The Bill which was sponsored by Rt Hon. Okon E. Ephraim, representing Calabar South 1 Constituency and the 9th Assembly's Chief Whip, had earlier passed through the mandatory first and second readings before it was referred to the House Committee on Judiciary, Public Service Matters, Public Petition and Conflict Resolution for appraisal. 

In a report, presented by the Chairman of the Committee, Rt Hon. Efa Esua, Members were informed that inputs were received from relevant Stakeholders during the public hearing stage of the Committee's work. 

Esua, also emphasised that the Assembly Service Commission, "when established will take charge of the full responsibility of recruitment, training, discipline, promotion and transfer of staff of the House of Assembly;" adding that; "it will bring about greater output in the productivity of staff"

According to the report, the bill establishes a Consolidated Legislative Salary Structure (CONLESS) for staff of the Assembly to commence from when it is passed while the tenure of legislative Aides to Members will run with that of the Members to whom they are attached. 

Members  commended  the Committee for doing a thorough Job on the bill and unanimously agreed that the bill be passed into law following which the Speaker Rt Hon Eteng Jonah Williams directed the Clerk, Barr Bassey Ekpeyong to forward a clean copy of the bill to the State Governor for his assent.