Monday, 15 March 2021

CBN celebrates Best Farmers of the Year, Presents Awards Gov Ayade commended for his Agricultural innovations

The Central Bank of Nigeria recently celebrated Best Farmers of the year in Cross River State. The best farmer of the year award  is a policy of the Federal Government of Nigeria to encourage agricultural Enterprise Development, as one of the tools to enhance the attainment of Food Security and Sufficiency in Nigeria.

In the same vein, Governor Ben Ayade's policy direction of giving huge support to agriculture has been highly commended.

The administration of Governor Ayade is praised for its continuous support to ensure agriculture becomes the focus of the country's economy.

As a result of the huge commitment of the Ayade's administration to agriculture,Cross River State today has become the hub of some agriculture products in the country like rice, yams and  cassava.

The best farmers who emerged through a rigorous selection process, were presented with certificates of Award, as well as cash award to strengthen their Farming activities.

Presenting the Awards, the State Commissioner for Agriculture,  Ntufam Okon Owuna encouraged awardees & farmers in the State to key into the States Agro Industrialisation Programs, strengthen their farming activities in order to create wealth and generate employment. 

The Controller of CBN, Calabar emphasized on the interest of CBN to continue in supporting Farmers in the value chains of interest in the State, in strengthening farming activities and Food Security as well as developing an economy for Nigerians.

The best farmer award in the state was won by Prof  S.O Abang, of the University of Calabar, while the 2nd runner up was Dominic Effiom and Udobor Etim the 3rd runner up.

Dignitaries in the event include; Emmanuel Anoh, Special Adviser to the Governor on Agriculture and Value Chain Development,  Sir, Oliver Ntui, Senior Special Assistant on Agricultural Enterprise, Dr A. A Umoren, Head of Development Finance, CBN Calabar, Prof S.O Abang, Department of Agric Economics,  University of Calabar, Senior Lecturers of the Faculty of Agriculture,  University of Calabar, representives of NIRSAL Micro Finance Bank, Nigerian Agric Insurance Corporation, Commercial Banks and other dignitaries.