Sunday, 20 June 2021

Ikom APC is one All-inclusive family - Sen. Ndoma-Egba

Sen. Victor Ndoma-Egba addressing the press after receiving former members of the PDP into the Progressives family in Ikom 

Former Senate Leader and a leader of the All Progressives Congress, Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba, SAN has assured new entrants into the APC from the various political wards of Ikom Local Government Area of inclusiveness and a sense of belonging to everybody.

The Senator gave the assurance as a special guest at the defection ceremony of top politicians and political office holders from Ikom LGA who moved from the Peoples Democratic Party to the APC. Speaking at the event which held at the Ikom Council Secretariat, Sen. Ndoma-Egba reminded the defectors to note the necessity, moving forward, of having Ikom political issues being handled by Ikom people. He decried the damage that has been done to the politics of the area by external influences and enjoined all to rekindle the spirit of unity and oneness, through which so much was achieved in the past. He noted that Cross River State was a PDP state because the Governor and the people were PDP but that the defection of the Governor and the  ensuing mass exodus of political leaders and followers into the APC signals the end of PDP in the State. He said the political realignment of the State was divinely arranged.

Speaking earlier, the Financial Secretary of the State APC Caretaker Committee , Elder Missang Eka, who represented the State Caretaker Chairman, Sen. Matthew Mbu, received the defectors  welcomed everyone to the APC and assured all that the Party will give equal opportunities to every member, irrespective of what time they joined the party. He reiterated the need for a united Ikom APC under the political leadership of Sen. Ndoma-Egba.


The Chairman of Ikom Local Government Council, Hon. Kingsley Egumi, together with Barr. Chris Agara, one of the frontline political leaders of Ikom, had led numerous politicians to formally announce their defection from the APC to the PDP. They include Hon. Elvert Ayambem (Member representing Ikom 2 in the CRSHA), Hon. Chris Njar (Commissioner for Social Housing), Dr. Alice Ekwu (Commissioner for Establishment), Hon. Agbiji Mbeh (Special Adviser to the Governor on Aviation), Ransome Odey (State Security Adviser - Central), Ayang Ayang (DG-Rural Development Agency), Hon. Ayiba Ayiba (DG - Tinapa Business Resort), Mfa Erim Egodo (Special Adviser - Power) and all the political office holders in the State and Local Government Council.

Other APC stalwarts at the event include Mrs. Mary Ekpere Eta, Barr. Ebaye Akunjom, retired Captain Kekong Odey, High Chief Higgins Peters, Hon. Celestine Okam, amongst others.

Photo Gallery: